The Rise of the Machines: All hail the iPod Touch! …..or not?

The weekend’s here and it’s sunny and warm outside at 73 degrees F. You’re headed to your neighborhood Panera Bread, Starbucks or some other eatery for your favorite frappe, sandwich or whatever your “regular” item on the menu is. You walk in and place your order at the counter, and seat yourself at an empty table, couch or armchair. While waiting for your name to be called to pick up your food and/or beverage, you take a glance around the room and observe other patrons: four or five high school kids gulping down their lemonade and sodas talking about the latest video game, at least two of them are typing text messages on their cellphones; three twenty-somethings are seated at separate tables tapping away on a MacbookPC notebookiPad or Galaxy Tab; a college student is in an armchair reading from a Kindle; and at a corner, a woman is busy feeding her toddler while the man seated next to her is swiping and tapping on an iPhone. Two older couples are seated at a booth. They briefly look out the window at pedestrians outside and one couple talks about their upcoming trip to California to visit their grandchildren. The woman proceeds to dig in her purse for her glasses and puts them on. She then picks up her smartphone on the table, swipes and taps on it and shows the other couple pictures of her son’s family. Sound familiar?

Photo by jcfrog. Retrieved 5/17/2012 from http://www.flickr.com/photos/jcfrog/4692115839/lightbox/

It’s undeniable that rapid advances in information and communications technology (ICT) has pretty much placed some sort of handheld or portable device in almost every person’s hands these days. It’s rare not to see teenagers, college students and adults with headphones in or over their ears listening to their mp3/mp4 players, or texting away on their smartphones. Even seniors in their 70s and 80s are very adept at using smartphones and internet tablets; sometimes they put younger people to shame! This is all good and fine. We now have more efficient ways of communicating and keeping in contact with friends and family, gathering information, or getting work done anywhere and at anytime; thanks to Wifi, hotspots, voice and data plans, 3G and 4G technology, and of course, the existing ICT infrastructure that makes all these happen.

Now, the big question is: Can we put all this technology to better use? Possibly. Next question: Can we use this technology to support learning and improve student outcomes  in classrooms nation-wide, and perhaps, across the globe? Possibly. This is exactly what Banister (2010) envisions in the K-12 setting, with her detailed description of the iPod Touch, its capabilities, and how related apps can be used in classrooms. I confess – I had to google up the author’s name to see if she was a he or a she – but I digress. I believe most of us are familiar with the iPod Touch (and of course, the iPhone and the iPad since they all run on the same mobile operating system, Apple’s iOS) or maybe even own one. The fact is that the iPod Touch and iPads are already being used in classrooms for a variety of subjects with positive student and teacher feedback:

(relevant content for the video below is from 0:00 to 2:20)

In addition to the learning opportunities that Banister (2010) proposed, the iPod Touch can also be used in a variety of ways for students with special needs:

  1. ›As a prompting system that may be used to facilitate generalization of increasingly complex vocational skills and maintenance of skills;
  2. To record, edit, and view video clips for video-modeling and/or social stories to teach social and behavioral skills as well as life skills; and
  3. As an alternative communication device in conjunction with an app for individuals who have difficulties using speech.

Retrieved 5/17/12 from http://www.apple.com/ipodtouch/

Now that we’ve covered most of the advantages of integrating the iPod Touch  in education, or any similar handheld device for that matter, let’s discuss the vice that Banister (2010) highlights: the need to develop and practice “classroom management techniques for keeping students on task and using the applications that are deemed supportive of their learning, rather than distractions” (p. 129). For me, this is a non-issue. Teachers will still use identical or similar classroom management techniques, perhaps such as those based on the principles of applied behavior analysis, to keep their students on task whether they integrate technology into their classrooms or not. Lesson content will still be reviewed for appropriacy and suitability for use in their classrooms – why would this be any different for the apps that teachers intend for students to use on the iPod? In fact, there are a number of websites that list educational apps such as Princeton City Schools’ iPad Desktop, or those that list apps that are suitable for use with students with disabilities especially those with autism, that can cut down a teacher’s time spent on selecting and reviewing apps. Moreover, the use of technology can increase engagement and on-task behavior, so students might actually be on task for a longer duration while using the iPod Touch during the class period. 

Nonetheless, one can argue that the risk of distraction cannot be ignored. The availability of games, other apps, and the opportunity to browse the web on the iPod Touch could become a distraction for students who know how to access them if they aren’t being constantly monitored. However, I believe that attentive and responsible teachers will usually walk around the room to check on individual students or small-groups when they are given work to complete on their own. Also, we need to give students some credit – the benefit of a doubt that they will not do what they are not supposed to do on the iPod Touch. Furthermore, there are apps that can lock other apps and folders, and passwords can be set for the school’s WiFi network or access to certain sites can be blocked. In fact, I experienced the latter today. While connected to a school’s network, I tapped Blackboard from the bookmark list on my iPad, or at least, I thought I did. A notification immediately popped up on the browser page to state that access to Facebook is not allowed and has been blocked. So, really, I don’t think the claims about the vices of using iPod Touch or other handheld devices in classrooms hold water. There are solutions to these vices; it’s just a matter of researching them and implementing the best one that meets the needs of the school.

Would you or would you not use the Ipod Touch in your classroom? Why?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Rise of the Machines: All hail the iPod Touch! …..or not?

  1. Carrie says:

    You make an illustrative and strong argument supporting use of the iPod Touch in the classroom. I definitely see validity in using it in the classroom as technology becomes more and more geared toward education. It is naive to think that this type of technology isn’t a major part of their lives and the way they learn and communicate about things outside of school. If we are to be pragmatic, constructivist teachers, we would be wise to tap into this medium to intrinsically and extrinsically engage them.

    That being said, I think it is only prudent to exercise great precaution before letting students use iPods and the like freely in the classroom. I had the experience of subbing in a classroom where the students were allowed to use smart phones/iPads at will to look up definitions, spellings, and other content-related pieces of information. While I see some convenience associated with this idea, I also felt an added weight on my classroom management responsibilities to “keep watch” more than usual. That day I probably singled out 30% of the classroom to either stop playing games or using their devices for something other than the task at hand. I took two smart phones away from students as they had been texting on them in class.

    So there are definitely pros and cons for the use of iPod Touch, and smart devices in the classroom. Like with any parameters we place on them, kids will try to find a way to manipulate what they can do to make it useful/engaging for them. In an effort to keep the baby but throw out the bathwater, I think this technology is best used when done so in a thoughtful, calculated way.

  2. ljbernstein says:

    I have already used an iPod Touch and other smart devices in my classroom, with a modicum of success. However, I only used the iPods/iPads for their internet research capability, not for any of the apps that they possess. The reason that the use of the technology was successful was that the school provided the iPads, and there was a lock on adding games, so students couldn’t abuse the technology. For the iPod Touch, students were allowed to use their own. The reason that students stayed on task and did not access any of their personal apps is simple: abuse the privilege and YOUR iPod gets taken. Like you said, it is rare to see most students without ear buds in listening to their mp3 player. There was always one student in the classroom who had his or her iPod taken for the rest of the day, and that kept everyone else on task.

    Now, what I find interesting is the fact that yes I used the technology in class, but not uniquely. What I mean by that is that this technology possesses amazing opportunities to learn through educational apps. Did we use any? No. Why is that? Because, echoing what Carrie said, there is a necessity to keep watch. Also, because it might take time away from the lesson if students are unfamiliar with using the apps. I echo what Carrie said, if we use the technology, we have to find a way to keep the students on task, engaged, and able to learn.

  3. themodernfemme says:

    Christine –
    You make some excellent points about using iPods and iPads in the classroom. During my student teaching in the fall, I brought in my iPad for classroom use probably an average of three times a week. It worked, because I frame my classroom as one of choice: If you CHOOSE to abuse the [insert device or tool here], then you CHOOSE for it to be taken away from you. I loved what you said about giving students the benefit of the doubt; yes, we still need to keep watch and monitor, but if we run our classrooms in such a way that they know what is expected of them and they understand the consequences if they choose to do otherwise, then (most of the time) they will adhere to the task at hand. I don’t see the management issue as that large of an issue. It’s not something that would deter me from implementing technology into my classroom. Of course, it’s also about knowing your students. I can think of one instance in particular: doing student teaching, I had one bell that was just a mess. The class was split by lunch; there were some extremely immature personalities; the class did not function well as a whole. As a result, there were things I did with my other classes that this class just couldn’t handle (station work, computer time). Every time we tried it, it didn’t end well, and we stopped until they could be more mature about it.

    I also want to reply to something that Lauren said – I have a huge problem with allowing students to use their own devices when it’s something like an iPad or an iPod. If it’s a phone, I’m more okay with that, because all of them (at least at the high school level) have one. Of course, you do need to ensure that all of your students have one before you integrate it into the classroom. However, when it’s a more expensive device, there is a HUGE social justice issue embedded in allowing students to bring their own. You are pre-determining their class participation based on their socioeconomic status. You cannot assume that every student has access to a certain degree of technology. From a more logistical stance, you cannot put any blocks on the devices if they belong to the students. If the devices are owned by the school, you can block students from playing games of whatnot when they are supposed to be doing something else. I despise the “bring your own” setup because I think it’s irresponsible as educators to assume our students have a two- or three-hundred dollar device.

    • Thanks to everyone who has commented so far. I just wanted to add that each of you made valid points in your comments. I think it all very much depends on students’ personalities and sense of responsibility. I would not want teachers to spend too much time monitoring students at the expense of the time allocated for the lesson, and what they’re supposed to learn, just to keep up with technology! There needs to be clear expectations as to the use of these devices in the classroom and I really like the guidelines you (Lauren and Ginny) put into place when you allowed the students to use iPods or iPads. Teaching students accountability is very important! And yes, Ginny, I feel the same way about having students “bring their own device” – I would integrate the use of such devices only if they are supplied by the school or if every student has one. I wouldn’t want to put kids in an environment where differences between the “haves” and the “have nots” are glaring students in the face.

  4. edulawblog says:

    So, here’s whats funny. It is sunny and warm out. I am in my local Starbucks. They make my drink for me when they see me standing in line without even having to ask for it. I’m in the armchairs. I’m the geek on both his laptop and Android phone at the same time….

    You wrote about classroom management issues in your post, stating “The availability of games, other apps, and the opportunity to browse the web on the iPod Touch could become a distraction for students who know how to access them if they aren’t being constantly monitored. However, I believe that attentive and responsible teachers will usually walk around the room to check on individual students … we need to give students some credit … that they will not do what they are not supposed to do on the iPod Touch. Furthermore, there are apps that can lock other apps and folders, and passwords can be set for the school’s WiFi network or access to certain sites can be blocked … I don’t think the claims about the vices of using iPod Touch or other handheld devices in classrooms hold water.”

    I disagree with you to some extent. Technology such as the iTouch presents opportunities for distraction that are more tempting and harder to detect than the average student passing a paper note across the classroom (ah, the good old days).

    Kids are always a step ahead of your average IT department. I also have worked in a high school that blocks access to certain sites – only to have the kids tell me how to add a letter or two to the URL to circumvent the block and access Facebook and other sites. Just because you cannot doesn’t mean its safe to assume they cannot as well.

    You can’t easily destroy a paper note (swallow it perhaps), but I can at the press of a button make whatever distraction appears on my screen disappear. Have you ever walked into a large lecture hall and looked down on the students and their laptops? How many of them were doing something other than taking notes? If 18-?? year olds can’t practice some self-restraint in college, how do we expect the under 18 crowd to do so?

    I’m not saying this is a reason not disallow use of the technology – but just as technology has changed with the times, so must our classroom management strategies surrounding it.

    I had a teacher complain to me about a student who had an IEP requiring that she be allowed to use her laptop during class. The teacher suspected the student was doing everything but taking notes during class, but could never “catch her in the act.” I offered a simple solution. Install a mirror in the back of class so she could see what the student was doing on her computer. The child was annoyed, but no longer appeared to be surfing the web in class….

  5. philpotd says:

    First let me say that I think you bring up a great point when you say “It’s undeniable that rapid advances in information and communications technology (ICT) has pretty much placed some sort of handheld or portable device in almost every person’s hands these days. It’s rare not to see teenagers…”. I teach pre-k and I have sat and listened to conversations between my students during free play and snack. I have been shocked at the handheld device these kids talk about. I know of at least four of my thirteen students have an iPad. I have to say I do not own one. I am a true believer that if I were to but one my students could show me how to operate it. I agree with you that these devices could be potentially very useful in the classroom. At our school the students from seventh grade and up use them in the classroom and there is a list of sites which the students cannot access on school grounds including Facebook.
    Thank you,
    Doyle.

  6. I enjoyed your post and do agree that classroom management issues can be aided by your above suggestions. I understand that edulawblog disagrees somewhat, but I would say this….are the same students that have issues with staying on task, the same ones writing a paper note or doodling? My guess is yes. The problem is that they are not engaged and hopefully the ipad does provide some engagement for learning, even for a short period of time. I have no data on this, but the blogger’s inclusion of the above videos has data on the research showing the growth in students’ math and reading development. At least with technology, you have a shot at student engagement for the previously disengaged. The abuse can be managed by simple searches if you suspect something is going on that detracts from the purpose of the lesson.

    Your blog is very informative – thank you.

Leave a comment